Skip Navigation
The Seasons on Henry’s Farm book image

The Seasons on Henry’s Farm
Terra Brockman, signed by author
$26.00

Henry’s Farm is in central Illinois, some of the richest farming land in the world. There, Henry Brockman and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terra — farm in a way that produces healthy, nutritious food without despoiling the land. Terra Brockman tells their story in the form of a yearlong diary/memoir — with recipes — that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm’s vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber. The book opens a window into what sustainable farming really entails and why it is vital and relevant to everyone who eats. Though rooted in the rolling oak-hickory hills and fertile fields and flood plains of the Mackinaw River Valley, the book ranges widely, incorporating literary, scientific, and culinary reflections occasioned by the week-by-week events of farm life.

Publisher:
Surrey Books
Publish Date:
, Chicago, IL
Pages:
311
Format:
hardcover
ISBN:
9781572841031
Price:
$26.00

More Signed & Antique Books

Freezer Burn Blues

Freezer Burn Blues
Shannon Danford
$20.00
Find out more

The Way I Remember it

The Way I Remember it
Susan Schubert
$10.00
Find out more

Hypatia Reborn

Hypatia Reborn
Azizah Y. Al-Hibri, Margaret A. Simons
$25.00
Find out more

View All Signed & Antique Books